Skilled Migrant Category

The Skilled Migrant Category (SMC) is New Zealand’s main route to immigration whereby you may move to New Zealand and settle permanently. In other words, this is the category that allows you to live and work in New Zealand indefinitely.

Who may apply?

For you to be eligible for residence under the SMC you must:

  • be healthy
  • be of good character
  • speak English.
  • be 55 years or under

You will be assessed against a points system that awards points for various criteria including qualifications, employability and remuneration.


You may or may not automatically apply for residence even if you score sufficient points. First, you must be issued an invitation to apply (ITA) for residence and this will only be forthcoming if you have lodged an Expression of Interest (EOI) application and not only been selected from the SMC Pool but also assessed as having completed the lengthy form accurately.

Herein lies the rub. A number of questions require you to state why your qualifications and employability should be recognised by Immigration New Zealand for the award of points according to Government instructions. As a client of Tri-Nations Migration, we will answer these subjective questions for you to ensure a successful decision on your behalf.

Complete our online form for a free assessment of your eligibility to meet Immigration New Zealand for a resident’s visa under the Skilled Migrant Category.

For more information on obtaining a New Zealand skilled work visa, contact us.

Advising migrants since 1987 – Tri Nations Migration

For more information on on how to immigrate to New Zealand or Australia or even to apply for an Australian Visa or New Zealand Visa, contact us.