Understanding the New Zealand Residence Programme Policy

Since last year, the New Zealand Residence Programme policy has introduced a new point system. The skilled migrant category is the most popular way for people to move to New Zealand.

Before the department of immigration can invite you to apply for the New Zealand Residence Programme, you will first have to submit an expression of interest, called an “EOI” for short. The EOI will give the department more information such as:

  • Your personal details,
  • Work experience,
  • Qualifications, etc.

If your EOI has 160 points and above, and it is successful, you will be given the chance to live and work in New Zealand indefinitely.

The points that are awarded for the New Zealand Residence Programme are broken down into individual groups, starting with age. The younger you are, the more points you will earn. Age brackets are divided as follows:

  • Those aged 20 – 39, will get 30 points. In the past, only 25 points were awarded for this age group but changes were made to acknowledge that more nurtured workers would be entering the workforce if they fall within this age range.
  • Those within the 40 – 44 age brackets are awarded 20 points,
  • Those within the 45 – 49 year age groups get 10 points, and
  • Those within the 50 – 55 age brackets only get 5 points.

You can claim points for the skills that you use in your current job or in a job offer that you have received. Skilled employment includes:

  • Specialist,
  • Technical, and
  • Managerial expertise.

For a complete list of jobs, check out Appendix 6 of the New Zealand Residence Programme.

This is only the start of calculating the points that you are entitled to when applying for this programme. If you are considering immigration to New Zealand, then let the immigration specialists at Tri-Nations Migration guide you through the process. Contact us for more information today.

Post Contents